WFMW – The Reusable Bag

November 19, 2008 at 9:35 am 5 comments

So lately I’ve been asking a few online friends about reusable shopping bags. Most say they use them, not every shopping trip but they at least use them and see other people using them. I’ve not seen anyone anywhere using them. I know that it seems crazy for me to be worried about being seen with them, but I think that’s my big issue, along with cashiers just not getting it.

On my weekly shopping trip yesterday my cashier at Walmart who has worked there for quite some time discussed the reusable bags with me. She said that there are a few people using them, but not many. She directed me to the black bags that were hanging up, said that they were really nice, yet I didn’t buy any bags. She said she thinks most people forget to take them on their shopping trips or just didn’t plan on shopping at all. We discussed the different bags on the market.

Fast forward about 30 minutes……..

My son helped bring all of the groceries in, so that I could put them away quickly in time to pick the kids up from the bus stop. I started putting all of the bags into one bag and realized that the cashier had double and triple bagged everything in my cart! The bread was double bagged, the 10 lb. bag of russet potatoes was triple bagged and on my normal trips they never bag potatoes!

Needless to say I was upset enough to get out my reusable bags and start looking up a pattern to make more. My trips are going to be much more eco-friendly now. So now bringing my own shopping bags works for me!

On the subject of shopping bags, enter to win some really cool ones here. Simple Mom is giving away quite a few bags that I’ve not seen before. Have a look around, Simple Mom is my hero! More WFMW.

Entry filed under: Works for me Wednesday.

Making a Weekly Plan The Reusable Bag

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Niki  |  November 19, 2008 at 9:48 am

    I am a bag lady and just love all my reusable bags. It’s the least I can do on my part to be a little greener.

    FYI: Your link from WFMW isn’t working correctly.

    🙂

  • 2. mich  |  November 19, 2008 at 10:58 am

    when we started using the reusable bags, not many others were doing it. sometimes the cashiers/baggers looked annoyed, but i did’t care. what used to take 15 almost-empty plastic bags can now fit into my five reusable bags because i tell them to pack them full (and sometimes i do it myself).

    great job for choosing to be greener! we can all do it together!

  • 3. Mary  |  November 19, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    I have some reusable bags but I only use them when I’m doing light shopping. On my weekly shopping trip I can usually come home with at least thirty bags of stuff, and yes some are double bagged. I recycle some of these at the store when I go back, but I keep a small stash at home to use in my bathroom trash cans. The checker do seem annoyed when you have your reusable bags with you, I don’t get that, I guess it cuts down on their effeciancy idk. Also to recycle those many bags I get, I have a favorite low price store that I like to shop at, you pay for your groceries, the checker puts them in a cart, you can buy bags and bag them yourself after you pay for them on a counter along a wall. I usually take my cart straight out to my car where I already have bags to use.

  • 4. Tammy W  |  November 19, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    I try but don’t yet have enough but I DO use the reuseables for tons of other things!!

    I am bestowing a blog award on you!! Hee, hee! You deserve it!!

    Stop by & get it when you’d like!

  • 5. rescueriders  |  November 21, 2008 at 6:29 am

    my friend always uses reuauable bags. she even keeps a cooler bag for her cold stuff. after she unloads her groceries, she takes them right back out to her van. I get the plastic cause I work for a dog breeder and we have lots of uses for the plastic bags.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Homeschooling

Polkaspotfarm

Blog Stats

  • 2,875 spotted the farm

